Collection of Personal Information
When you register for our courses online or over the phone, we will collect and store personal information including, but not limited to, your name, mailing address, phone number, state license number, and/or email address. We collect this personal information to provide certification for you and to process your order.
Use of Your Personal Information
We use your personal information to communicate with you. By providing us your phone number and/or email address, you consent to communication from the Real Estate Institute of New England in the form of a phone call or an email. You can opt out of this service at any time.
Sharing Your Personal Information
The Real Estate Institute of New England will never sell or share your personal information with any outside parties. Unless required to by law.
All Students Welcome
Students registering for courses agree to follow the Real Estate Institute of New England's policies, the course Venue's policies, and policies set forth by the approving State(s) Real Estate Commission(s).
Maine Sales Agent Live, Live Online Course & Home Study Course
No pre-requisites to attend the course, but in order to obtain a real estate license from the Maine Real Estate Commission students must be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma (or equivalent), pass the 55 hour sales agent course with an overall grade of 75 or better, pass the PearsonVue exam with a 75% or better, submit to a criminal background check (students should check with the commission to discuss possible issues). For more detailed information consult the Maine Candidate Handbook.
New Hampshire Salesperson Course
No pre-requisites to attend the course, but students must be at least 18 years old, show proof of completion of 40 hours of an approved course, have no record of unprofessional conduct and submit to a criminal background check (students should check with the commission to discuss possible issues) in order to obtain a real estate license from the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission. For more detailed information consult the NH candidate Handbook.
Massachusetts Salesperson Course
No pre-requisites to attend the course, but students must be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma (or equivalent), and submit to a criminal background check (students should check with the commission to discuss possible issues) in order to obtain a real estate license from the Massachusetts Real Estate Commission.
Home Inspection Course
Maine Real Estate Appraisal Pre-Licensing Course
No pre-requisites to attend the course, but students must be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma (or equivalent), pass the 75 hours of qualifying education within 5 years of application, secure work arrangements under a certified residential or general real property appraiser who meets qualifications, in order to qualify for the Maine Real Estate Appraisal Trainee License.
New Hampshire Real Estate Appraisal Pre-Licensing Course
No pre-requisites to attend the course, but students must be at least 18 years old, and pass the 75 hours of qualifying education, to qualify for the New Hampshire Real Estate Appraisal Apprentice License.
Deposit to hold seat
Students can pay a $50 non-refundable deposit to reserve their seat in a class.
Payment in Full
Students agree to pay the course fee in full one week prior to the course start.
The Real Estate Institute of New England accepts all Major Credit Cards, Cash, and Checks. There is a $30 fee for returned checks.
Continuing Education Attendance Policy
Classes will begin promptly at the scheduled start time. Check in will begin 15 minutes prior to the start time. Those not marked on the check in list will not receive an education affidavit. Attendees who are late, take extended breaks, or leave early may not be eligible to receive an affidavit depending on the state commission rules. Check with the office or your instructor during a planned break if you have questions about this policy. Use of a cell phone for the course is prohibited, if you are on your cell and driving or a passenger in a vehicle during the course you will be asked to leave and no refund will be issued.
Qualifying Education Attendance Policy
Classes will begin promptly at the scheduled start time. Check in will begin 30 minutes prior to the designated start time of the first class and materials will be distributed during that time. Being late or leaving early for any class will be recorded and will affect your participation grade. Should the accumulated missed time exceed 10% of total class hours, a grade of incomplete will be issued until the missed time has been made up. The missed time must be made up by attending all missed classes when they are scheduled in the next offering of the course, not to exceed the time frame of six months from the start date of the original course. If the time is not made up in the next scheduled offering, a failing grade will be entered, and the student will have to retake the entire course after paying the retake fee. Should the accumulated missed time exceed 30% of total class hours, you will be required to withdraw from the class and re-enroll in an upcoming course at the retake fee of $275. For Live Online classes, if you are driving or are a passenger in a vehicle while attending class, you will be asked to leave and marked absent.
School Cancellation Policy
School Cancellation Policy - Continuing Education:
We hate to cancel a class, but if we do cancel for any reason, the school will attempt to give as much notice as possible to all registered students via email. Students will have the option of taking another continuing ed class or receiving a full refund.
Cancellation Policy - Qualifying Education
In the event classes are postponed due to hazardous weather conditions, instructor illness or unforeseen natural events, the school will attempt to give as much notice as possible to all registered students via email. Qualifying education students will be notified as soon as possible of a make-up date(s) and if applicable a location, within a reasonable time.
Refund Policy for Live Continuing Education Courses including Designations and Certifications
A full refund is available if you cancel at least 24 hours prior to the class starting. If you cancel within 24 hours prior to the start of class, a credit for another course will be issued. If you cancel the day of the class or do not attend the full class, for any reason, no refund or credit will be issued.
Credits are non-transferrable.
Policy For Print-Based Continuing Education Courses
Home study Continuing Education Courses are a final sale.
Policy for Maine Law Prep Home Study Course
Maine Law Prep Home Study Course is a final sale.
Refund Policy for Live, Live Online Real Estate Pre-Licensing/Qualifying, Appraisal Pre-Licensing Courses and Home Inspection Course
A refund, less cancellation fee of $50.00 will be issued if you cancel more than 5 days prior to the start of class. If you cancel within 5 days prior to class, credit less $50.00 cancellation fee will be issued for a future course. No credit or refund will be issued if you cancel the day the course begins or thereafter.
Credits are non-transferrable.
Live/Live Online Sales Agent, Associate Broker and Designated Broker courses must be completed within six months of the course start date.
Transfer Policy from Live or Live Online Pre-licensing to Home Study
If a transfer is requested from the Live or Live Online Pre-Licensing course to the Sales Agent Home Study course, and the request is less than 5 days from the start of the Live/Live Online start date there is a $50 transfer fee. No transfers are available once the Live/Live Online course begins.
Transfer Policy from Home Study Pre-Licensing to Live/Live Online Course
Transfers must be requested prior to 30 days from the purchase date of the Home Study course, there will be a $50 transfer fee. Transfers more than 30 days after the purchase date will be subject to the $50 transfer fee plus the discounted retake fee of $275. None of the course work from the Home Study course is transferable to the Live course.
Maine Sales Agent Home Study Policies
This is a non-refundable course please read policy carefully.
This Course has been approved by the Maine Real Estate Commission for 55 hours of qualifying education for a Maine Sales Agent license.
A grade of 75 or better is required to pass this course. To receive credit for this course, students must complete each of the five module's exercises, case studies, and quiz. It is recommended that each module be sent in for correction as it is completed and not all modules at one time, to gain feedback from the instructor.
Student overall grades are determined as followed:
Exercise & Case Study Average: 20%
Quiz Average: 30%
Final Exam: 50%
Course Final Exam
Students must contact the Real Estate Institute of New England to schedule final exams after grading of all modules. Students can schedule a review of their final exam but will not be allowed to take any kind of notes, or pictures.
This course MUST be completed, including completion of the course Final Exam, within 6 months of the date of purchase.
This course cannot be sold or otherwise transferred to any other person.
Transfer to Live Sales Agent Course
Transfers must be requested prior to 30 days from the purchase date of the Home Study course, there will be a $50 transfer fee. Transfers more than 30 days after the purchase date will be subject to the $50 transfer fee plus the discounted retake fee of $275. None of the course work from the Home Study course is transferable to the Live course. No refunds available.
Returning students are offered a discounted rate if they register within 6 months of completing the course to retake either a Live or Home Study course.
Maine Sales Agent: $275 (total amount you would pay)
It is the expectation of the Maine Real Estate Commission and the Real Estate Institute of New England that the person who registered for this course will be the person who completes all exercises, cases studies, quizzes and the final exam. If it is discovered that a registered student turns in work, for credit, that was completed by someone else, the registered student will receive a grade of 0 for the course. Anyone caught cheating on the final will receive a grade of 0 for the course.
The Real Estate Institute of New England highly recommends that you keep a copy of all completed case studies, exercises and quizzes that are sent to be graded. We are not responsible for material that is lost in the mail.
Real Estate Institute of New England Students are offered a discounted rate if they register within 6 months of completing the course to retake a pre-licensing/qualifying education course.
Retake Fee (total amount you would pay)
Maine Sales Agent: $275
Maine Associate Broker: $275
Maine Designated Broker: $250
Appraisal Qualifying Course: 50% of course price
Home Inspection: No Discount
Online Course Delivery
We are currently using the Zoom platform. It is highly recommended that you test your connectivity to Zoom prior to your registered course. We are not responsible for internet connectivity issues and the instructors are not able to do tech support. You must have reliable internet connection and a computer with a microphone and webcam. IPads/Cell phones are not acceptable.
Online Disruptive Behavior
Disruptive Behavior: Instructors may request any person to leave an online classroom if, in the sole discretion of the Instructor, the person is being disruptive of a positive learning environment. Students should be aware that if class time is missed due to tardiness, disruptive behavior or expulsion from class, credit will not be earned for the class.
Live Classroom Prohibitions:
Smoking or eating is not permitted in any of our classes. Appropriate beverages are acceptable. To promote free discussion among the class participants, recording devices are not allowed in any of our classes. All internet connected and communication devices shall be turned off during class. Certain exceptions can be made by the instructor on an emergency basis.
Instructors may request any person to leave a classroom if, in the sole discretion of the Instructor, the person is being disruptive of a positive learning environment. Students should be aware that if class time is missed due to tardiness, disruptive behavior or expulsion from class, credit will not be earned for the class.
The Real Estate Institute of New England strives to provide Quality Education through several media types. Classes are generally presented with slides on a projector or large screen tv as well as a course handout for taking notes.
Real Estate Institute of New England can accommodate up to 40 students in their Westbrook ME classroom, and varying amounts of students in other locations. We generally use a classroom style setup with chairs and a table/desk, depending on location.
All course locations are wheelchair accessible
The Real Estate Institute of New England is committed to providing access for all individuals with disabilities. We will provide reasonable and appropriate learning and testing accommodations to individuals with documented disabilities who demonstrate a need for learning and testing accommodations. Special learning and/or testing accommodations may include a separate testing room, extra testing time and/or a reader. Learning and testing accommodations will be considered on a case-by-case basis. No single type of test accommodation (e.g. extra time) would necessarily be appropriate for all individuals. Simply demonstrating that an individual meets diagnostic criterion for a disorder does not mean that the person is automatically entitled to test accommodations. All candidates who are requesting learning and/or testing accommodations because of a disability must provide appropriate documentation of their condition and how it is expected to affect their ability to learn or take a test under standard conditions. This may include additional supporting documentation from the professional who diagnosed the condition.
Requests for special accommodations should be made, in writing, to the Director of the Real Estate Institute of New England.
All rights to materials used in class are reserved to the REAL ESTATE INSTITUTE OF NEW ENGLAND. No part thereof may be reproduced in any form without prior written permission from the school. No persons other than the instructors of the school are permitted to use these materials for instructional purposes unless with prior permission of the Real Estate Institute of New England.